I’ll Wait For You

Did you know that over 40% of the psalms in the Book of Psalms are laments? Dictionary.com defines lament as a formal expression of sorrow or mourning, esp. in verse or song; an elegy or dirge.  The official hymnal of Israel, that the people of God used in their worship services and festivals were expressions of sorrow and grief.  Crazy to think about really, how often do we sing laments in our churches?  In our times of worship and praise as we express our adoration to our great God, how often do they include the human condition?  How we are feeling in the moment, our questions, our doubts, our pain, our despair?  I know why we don’t do this, because we don’t to bum everybody out, we are afraid it will turn into a big cry-fest and we will scare the newbies away. And I do agree that there should be more times of celebration and exaltation than lament and sorrow, but 40% of the Psalms is full of complaints and rage, questions and doubts, cries for help.  I believe that God receives our laments and cries as worship to Him as much as our shouts for joy and declarations of victory.  Because we are still looking to Him to be our help, for Him to be our hope.  Hope is the key, what separates God-ward worship cries of grief and sorrow and just having a big pity party.

So I wrote a hope-filled lament a couple of weeks ago. It is a song that is very much where I have been lately.  A song that was inspired by a Psalm:

Psalm 69: 1 Save me, O God! For the waters have come up to my neck.2 I sink in deep mire, where there is no foothold; I have come into deep waters, and the flood sweeps over me.3 I am weary with my crying out; my throat is parched. My eyes grow dim with waiting for my God.

It is still a work in progress, this was recorded  with me literally in front of a digital recorder, one take.  I would love your feedback. May you know that God desires every part of you to be worship to Him. Your joy and and your laughter, your grief and your tears.

Lyrics:
I’m all alone, crying out Your name
Drowning in a deep sea
I need you now, to come and rescue me
Save me from despair

When all around seems lost
Still You will be my hope

I wait for You, my soul lies in wait
You will be my help, even in the pain
Your perfect love removes all my fear
Even when I’m weak, You will be my strength
I’ll wait for You

The waters rise, flood sweeping over me
I am so weary
My eyes grow dim, searching after You
How I need Your mercy

You mend the broken-hearted
And set the captive free
You give beauty for ashes
And praise for despair
I’ll wait for You

words&music by: jason dionne
© 2010 Battlehawk Music

About jasondionne

pastor of worship, husband of hot wife, dad of 2 rocking boys, lover of music, thinker of things, learning to live for a greater cause, skeptic, mystic, Abba's child
This entry was posted in Worship. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I’ll Wait For You

  1. Jason,
    You ARE a perfectionist! That song sounded great. You have an awesome gift – To lead people into worship, no matter the kind of praise that it is.

    I liken this blog post to the song by Casting Crowns, Stained Glass Masquerade. People come to church with a lot of grief, hurt, pain, doubts and suffering; they put a smile on their face but very few really know what’s going on in their heart.

    There should be no shame in singing laments to God, and the church needs to embrace this. We go to church to hear and learn about God’s Word and how to apply it to our lives. Additionally, we go to share as a body, our hurts, prayers, joys, frustrations and on with the living God. If ever for a second the church was to portray worship, the Word, life and church to always be a perfect place with never any suffering, pain or doubts; they would be lying and should not be in the ministry.

    With all that rambling about my opinion: Embrace your God given talent to write and sing praises to the King of Kings no matter what kind of praise it is – Happy or sad: God sees our cries to Him as sweet incense.

  2. Natalie Dionne says:

    I don’t know if it’s cool for your mom to post a comment. But, I love this song and I love this post. You always touch my heart.

    Love you,

    Mom

  3. Amos Avery says:

    It is ever a joy to hear you sing unto the Lord because I know that is Who you are singing to. It’s not for me, even though I am edified. It is for Christ and it points me to Christ. I’ve said before that there are artisits who play music and those who make music; worship leaders who sing worship songs and those who lead worship. You are not perfect but you are obedient and God is using you with the talent He’s given you. Thanks for being obedient. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Michelle Kendall says:

    Jason I think we should sing more songs like this in Church! Don’t get me wrong I love the upbeat praise filled songs that we sing on Sunday’s, those songs that just make you want to dance till you can’t stand any longer. But I truly believe that given the chance to cry out in despair on occasion more people would lay at the feet of God. I think we get so wrapped up in wanting things to feel good and to be good that we forget that there are so many out there including ourselves sometimes that are hurting and just need to know that it is okay to come lay at His feet even when we are broken. We hide our sorrow and our brokenness for fear of what others may think and in doing so we fail to lay those things at God’s feet. He loves us no matter what which is so awesome and He wants us to come and lay those things at his feet. This song is a gateway to come, cry out and find that heeling and peace he offers. Thanks! Keep crying out with your heart! Through you people will find not only joy but healing! Love ya!

Leave a comment